Explore Little League History

Little League Baseball® World Series Moments

The Little League Baseball® World Series is the culmination of the world’s largest elimination tournament. During the summer months, June through August, more than 16,000 Little League games are played as part of the International Tournament that narrows the field from thousands of teams to the 16 participants that represent various regions in the United States and abroad. In 1947, the first Little League Baseball World Series was played in Williamsport, Pa., the program’s birthplace. Twelve years later, in 1959, the Little League Baseball® World Series tournament site was relocated five miles north, across the West Branch of the Susquehanna River, to its current location in South Williamsport, Pa. For more than five decades, Howard J. Lamade Field, later to become Howard J. Lamade Stadium, has been the home of the Little League Baseball World Series championship and the “field of dreams” for players, their families and friends, and hundreds of thousands of adoring fans.

1949  1951  1951  1954

1955  1957  1959  1962

1966  1967  1967  1969

1971  1971  1976  1978

1982  1984  1989  1989

Quiz Intro

What is the name of the first Little League® graduate to play professional baseball?

The correct answer is D. Allen “Sonny” Yearick.

You are correct!

What state each year hosts two Little League® World Series?

The correct answer is Delaware.

You are correct!

On what network can you watch the majority of Little League® games each summer?

The correct answer is ESPN.

You are correct!

Great Job! Thanks for playing!
Check back next week for a new quiz.