Explore Little League History

Junior League Baseball World Series

The Junior League World Series is a spectacular weeklong international tournament for the best teams of 13-and 14-year-old baseball players from around the world. Founded in 1981, the Junior League World Series is the “older brother” of the Little League® World Series held annually in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, for the best teams of 12-year-olds.

Like the Little League® World Series, the Junior League World Series has a storied history. The Junior League World Series began as a tournament for the best teams of 13-year-old players. It blossomed to include 14-year-olds and now attracts teams from around the globe: from Europe, the Middle East, Africa, Latin America, the Asia-Pacific region, Canada and, of course, the United States.

To date, teams have come from 29 different states in the U.S., four Canadian provinces, Aruba, Belgium, Chinese Taipei, Curacao, Czech Republic, England, Germany, Guam, Guatemala, Indonesia, Italy, Mexico, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russia, Saipan, Saudi Arabia, Netherlands, U.S. Virgin Islands, Ukraine and Venezuela.

Text courtesy of Junior League World Series.




Quiz Intro

What is the name of the first Little League® graduate to play professional baseball?

The correct answer is D. Allen “Sonny” Yearick.

You are correct!

What state each year hosts two Little League® World Series?

The correct answer is Delaware.

You are correct!

On what network can you watch the majority of Little League® games each summer?

The correct answer is ESPN.

You are correct!

Great Job! Thanks for playing!
Check back next week for a new quiz.